Head to head · Evaluated September 2026
Guidde vs Whale: Which SOP Software Fits Your Team?
Best SOP Software reviewers · From vendor pricing, help-centre and product pages · Evaluated September 2026
Plain answer
Whale scores higher on the lead-question score (7.40 against 6.90). Guidde scores higher on Capture and authoring speed; Whale scores higher on Version control and approvals, Audit trail and compliance, Training and acknowledgement tracking and Search and findability; they tie on Integrations and export and Pricing transparency. Both publish prices: Guidde from Free; Pro $19/creator/month (yearly), Whale from Free; Scale $249/month (yearly).
Whale is the stronger all-round SOP tool on the lead-question weights; Guidde is stronger where Capture and authoring speed (9 vs 8).
Guidde
Best for video guides with voiceoverLead question: rank 5 of 10, 6.90
Rank 3 of 4 among step-by-step guide tools
Whale
Best overall for SOPs plus trainingLead question: rank 1 of 10, 7.40
What is each tool built for?
Guidde: A capture tool that records a workflow from the browser, desktop or phone and turns it into a narrated video guide with AI voiceover, captions and highlights. Best for: Teams that want narrated video walkthroughs captured from the screen, with free viewers.
Whale: An SOP platform for documenting, sharing and training on procedures, with capture tools, an AI assistant, quizzes and approval flows. Best for: Teams that want SOPs, quizzes and read assignments in one tool.
How do they score criterion by criterion?
| Criterion | Lead weight | Guidde score | Whale score | Edge |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Capture and authoring speed | 25% | 9 / 10 | 8 / 10 | Guidde |
| Version control and approvals | 10% | 5 / 10 | 7 / 10 | Whale |
| Audit trail and compliance | 15% | 5 / 10 | 6 / 10 | Whale |
| Training and acknowledgement tracking | 15% | 6 / 10 | 8 / 10 | Whale |
| Search and findability | 10% | 6 / 10 | 7 / 10 | Whale |
| Integrations and export | 10% | 7 / 10 | 7 / 10 | Tie |
| Pricing transparency | 15% | 8 / 10 | 8 / 10 | Tie |
Why each score
| Criterion | Guidde | Whale |
|---|---|---|
| Capture and authoring speed | Browser extension, desktop or mobile capture; click stop and Guidde generates the guide with AI voiceover, captions and highlights. Desktop and mobile capture start on Business; Free and Pro capture the web. | Step Recorder, Video Screen Recorder, Video to SOP converter and an AI Writing Assistant are all listed. |
| Version control and approvals | Version History and Content Review and Quality Control are listed on Enterprise only; the Enterprise FAQ names content review and approval workflows. | Version history on paid plans (90 days on Scale, 1 year on Advance, unlimited on Enterprise); Approval Flows start on Advance. |
| Audit trail and compliance | Role-based access control, user roles, PII redaction and SSO with SCIM are Enterprise features; Guidde states it supports HIPAA-aligned workflows. An edit audit trail and a SOC 2 attestation are not stated on the pages we reviewed. | States SOC 2 certification, HIPAA readiness and GDPR compliance; Experts and Review Intervals prompt periodic re-checks. No regulated e-signature feature found. |
| Training and acknowledgement tracking | Viewer analytics and an activity feed on every plan; Interactive Demos on Business; Generative Quiz and SCORM export on Enterprise only. | Training Flows, AI-generated quizzes and Read Assignments, with completion reporting. |
| Search and findability | Quick search and conversion of a video into a knowledge base article on every plan; Broadcast shows guidance inside other apps; Collections and customer-facing portals on Enterprise. | Alice, an AI assistant that answers team questions, plus a browser extension for in-context access. |
| Integrations and export | Chrome, Edge, Slack and Gmail on every plan; Zendesk, Freshdesk, Zoom, Google Drive, OneDrive, SharePoint, Confluence, ServiceNow, Salesforce and SCORM on Enterprise only. | Slack and Zapier on paid plans; SCIM, HRIS and API on Enterprise; listed apps include BambooHR, ADP, monday.com and ClickUp. |
| Pricing transparency | Free (up to 25 how-to videos), Pro $19 per creator per month yearly ($29 monthly) and Business $39 per creator per month yearly ($59 monthly, up to 5 creators) are published; viewers are free; Enterprise, which holds the governance features, is contact us. | Scale ($249/month billed yearly, $399 billed monthly) and Advance ($499/month billed yearly, $799 billed monthly) are published; Enterprise is custom. |
What do Guidde and Whale cost?
Guidde
| Plan | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | Free. Up to 25 how-to videos; web capture; viewers free |
| Pro | $19 per creator per month billed yearly or $29 monthly | Yearly or monthly; annual billing saves 34%. Per creator; viewers free; web capture; annual billing saves 34% |
| Business | $39 per creator per month billed yearly or $59 monthly | Yearly or monthly; annual billing saves 34%. Up to 5 creators; desktop and mobile capture; Interactive Demos; free 7-day trial, no credit card |
| Enterprise | Contact us | Not stated on the pages we reviewed. Version History, Content Review and Quality Control, Generative Quiz, SCORM export, role-based access control, PII redaction, SSO with SCIM, Collections and customer-facing portals |
Source: guidde.com · Fetched 27 Sep 2026
Whale
| Plan | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0/month | 1 creator, SOP creation, 20 AI credits, one time, 1 training flow, 1 quiz, read assignments, browser extension, SSO login |
| Scale | $249/month billed yearly | 3 creators (+$29/month per additional creator), 5 training flows, 15 quizzes, 90-day version history, Slack and Zapier |
| Advance | $499/month billed yearly | 5 creators (+$39/month per additional creator), unlimited training flows and quizzes, 1-year version history, approval flows, enforce SSO, E-signatures on completion |
| Enterprise | Custom, yearly billing only | Unlimited members, unlimited version history, SCIM, HRIS, API |
Source: usewhale.io · Fetched 27 Sep 2026
Seat counts and billing rules differ. The calculator applies each vendor's published minimums to your seat count.
Which one should you choose?
Choose Guidde if
- Choose Guidde if you want the fastest route from doing a task to a first draft. Guidde scores 9 / 10 on Capture and authoring speed: Browser extension, desktop or mobile capture; click stop and Guidde generates the guide with AI voiceover, captions and highlights. Desktop and mobile capture start on Business; Free and Pro capture the web.
- Choose Guidde if you want to model the cost from a published price before a sales call. Guidde scores 8 / 10 on Pricing transparency: Free (up to 25 how-to videos), Pro $19 per creator per month yearly ($29 monthly) and Business $39 per creator per month yearly ($59 monthly, up to 5 creators) are published; viewers are free; Enterprise, which holds the governance features, is contact us.
Choose Whale if
- Choose Whale if you need to assign SOPs, test people and keep proof they read the current version. Whale scores 8 / 10 on Training and acknowledgement tracking: Training Flows, AI-generated quizzes and Read Assignments, with completion reporting.
- Choose Whale if you need every change kept and a named approver before a version goes live. Whale scores 7 / 10 on Version control and approvals: Version history on paid plans (90 days on Scale, 1 year on Advance, unlimited on Enterprise); Approval Flows start on Advance.
Frequently asked questions
Is Guidde or Whale better overall?
On the lead-question score, Whale (7.40) is ahead of Guidde (6.90). The largest weighted difference is Training and acknowledgement tracking, where Whale scores 8 against 6.
Is Guidde cheaper than Whale?
Both publish prices: Guidde Free; Pro $19/creator/month (yearly); Whale Free; Scale $249/month (yearly). They count seats differently, so compare them in the calculator at your seat count.
Which has stronger version control and approvals?
Whale scores 7 against 5 on version control and approvals. Guidde: Version History and Content Review and Quality Control are listed on Enterprise only; the Enterprise FAQ names content review and approval workflows. Whale: Version history on paid plans (90 days on Scale, 1 year on Advance, unlimited on Enterprise); Approval Flows start on Advance.